Corepower Yoga & Sweet Green

11 Jan

Good rainy afternoon readers!

It’s quickly becoming a mess outside here in the city so I’m trying to soak up as many hours as I can being cozy before tonight’s events: Adrienne’s 21st birthday!

First, I want to share yesterday’s events with all of you because it was a really good one. I think I am now out of my funk :).

For starters, I got to begin my day at work with a nice full jar of Overnight Oats.ImageI was looking forward to it since the night before. It was ultra filling, super delicious and perfectly satisfying. Good start…check!

After clocking in some time in the office, I snacked on some carrots and paella pre-babysitting for lunch then headed over a little early since I was going to have to talk to Max for awhile.ImageImageOnce I got to babysitting, I realized I was super hungry still. So I whipped up a couple snack items.ImageImage
One slice whole wheat toast, honey, half a banana, peanut butter and a clementine with skim milk. Woof, I was packed full after that big snack.

During babysitting I made sure I stay hydrated because that night I was meeting up with my lululemon interviewer for a Yoga Sculpt class at Corepower Yoga in Bethesda!! It was going to be my first ever experience at Corepower AND my first hot yoga class. I was so excited.

To pass the time, and fuel up properly before the 730 class I headed over to Sweet Green!ImageImageThe juice menu caught my eye, but I decided to keep it simple since I would be exercising soon. I made my own salad and it had baby kale, grape tomatoes, chickpeas, cranberries, cucumbers, peppers, avocado and beets in balsamic vinaigrette. I said yes to my slice of bread, but only ended up eating about half of it.ImageImageI enjoyed my salad while I was able to finish The Perks of Being a Wallflower 🙂 ImageI actually enjoyed the ending of the book much more than I thought I would. All in all, I would say the book is a decent read, but it won’t go down as one of my favorites.

At 7 I drove over to Corepower so I could get there early and fill out the new student form. After chatting with Clare we grabbed our mats and headed into the room early.

Holy wow. I have fallen in love with hot yoga. The class was a little less on the intense side that I was anticipating, but it was a still a great slower tempo-ed class. It combines traditional yoga poses with strength exercises that target one muscle group at a time. You have a set of light weights and heavy weights – I chose 3 lbs and 5 lbs. By the end, I was covered in sweat and feeling so cleansed. I felt rejuvenated. And I was hooked. Here’s a brief video on it!

I loved it so much that Clare invited me to meet her in the morning for another Yoga Sculpt class, but this time it would be with the woman who ran the studio. I gladly accepted.

Although my first class was on the company, Corepower is having this awesome deal right now where new students can come in for free for a whole week. I utilized this free week bright and early this morning.

This class was way more intense than last night’s – and I loved it even more!! Seriously you guys have to try it. Their studio is in Bethesda right on Wisconsin Ave at the corner of Bradley. I was literally drenched in sweat after this workout and can definitely feel my body will be on the sore side tomorrow.

Unfortunately, I forgot to eat something small before class so I was starving. I came straight home to shower and make a Sweet Breakfast Scramble and prepared another jar of overnight oats for tomorrow morning! 🙂ImageImagePosting to you guys about all of this is reminding me how hungry I am! Time to go ahead and eat a big healthy meal before tonight!

Any big weekend plans? By the way guys, fingers crossed for me to hear good news from lululemon on Sunday!! 🙂

Until next time,

Natasha

Leave a Reply

