Learning to Appreciate Little Things

9 Jan

Hey everyone!  

Saturday was off to an extremely early start. 730 AM the alarm went off and I was up and awake helping Kevin try to ship a motor scooter. Well, 2.5 hours later not only were we unsuccessful, but Kevin had to get to practice on time and I unfortunately missed my Bosu Body class 😦 By the time I ran to the gym I was exhaustedstarving and in a horribly crabby mood.

However, I did wear the new top my brother got me for Christmas and I loved the way it looked, especially the color!ImageI almost went home, but I decided to do a couple max lifts. I did dumbbell chest press, military press and then back squats. 8, 6, 4, 2 increasing weight each time. Despite how crabby I was, I actually powered through it easily and felt strong throughout.

On my run to the grocery store I realized I had a 50% off coupon for Robek’s! I was SO happy I remembered this! For 3 bucks I got myself an Emperor Acai. It has non-fat greek yogurt, acai berries, blueberries, strawberries and bananaHits the spot everytime.ImageI enjoyed each and every single sip as I made my way through the grocery store. I felt my mood completely changing as the fuel entered my body. I also felt really good being back in my grocery store investing in my health by choosing all my healthy eats for the week.

My mood continued to elevate as I had 3 different interactions at the bus stop and on the bus. I forgot how much I love talking with people I’ve never met before. It’s such a simple pleasure that never fails to bring a small smile to my face 🙂

Once I was home, I unpacked my groceries, loaded the fridge, and headed back over to Kevin’s to try for round 2 on helping out with the scooter. After failing miserably for another 2 hours we called it quits. However, we both agreed that even though it didn’t work out we really enjoyed spending the time together and the experience. Man, talk about appreciating all the little things huh?

After that: salad time.ImageCranberries, spinach, avocado, chickpeas, orange bell pepper, cucumber tomato in a balsamic vinaigrette

Followed by a nap and some Scrubs, it was time to make dinner. I wasn’t too hungry so I went for something small, but Kevin had a much bigger idea in mind.ImageMeet Tom. This is Kevin’s roommate, and a fellow teammate who can eat a ton of food in one sitting. Kevin came up with the idea to challenge Tom. They’ve had this enormous can of Ravioli sitting in the kitchen since May and it was time to get rid of it. Tom’s challenge was to finish the entire can in 30 minutes due to an apparent YouTube video. 

(I don’t endorse eating like this on a regular basis by any means, I’m just sharing this content with you as it was part of my weekend and represents just one of the many perspectives on food people can have.)

I prepped my dinner (edamame, mushrooms with Muenster cheese, chicken nuggets, and half an egg, bacon and strawberry jam sandwich on wheat) while Kevin prepped Tom’s.ImageImageImageImageImageImageHere’s the video for your further enjoyment 😉 Sunday was off to a later start, thank god!, and it was the day for me and Kevin to do a couple special things to honor our year and a half anniversary. We began the day by making Icelandic Pancakes together (not the healthiest, but a family tradition of his that we enjoy doing together)ImageImageImageTo make my breakfast a little healthier, I first snacked on some prunes and then sliced up a pear. I’m sorry I didn’t snap pictures of those 😦 But I did only end up eating about 3 of these pancakes. 

Icelandic Pancakes:

-1 cup flour

-1 cup milke (then a little more)

-1 egg

After breakfast, I went back over to my apartment to shower, get dressed and grab the car. After a short mall excursion together we arrived at Guardado’s. A small and cozy Spanish restaurant in downtown Bethesda that my brother recommended.

We both hadn’t eaten since breakfast so we decided to order 2 small tapas and the paella to share.ImageImage
Absolutely amazing. We ordered the red bell pepper stuffed with goat cheese, spinach and basil then this tortilla con chorizo  which Kevin really wanted to have because he loves this very hard to find in DC sausage (chorizo). We both devoured each of our portions and fully enjoyed every last bite.

The paella we ordered had shrimp, chorizo, chicken, peas, zucchini, yellow squash, mushrooms and rice. We both enjoyed it, but wouldn’t say we loved it. Paella just isn’t our thing. It was a good experience to try it, but we definitely enjoyed the tapas more. ImageImageOn our way out, I also managed to get him to take a picture with me! (a rarity).ImageAfter dinner, we began a new video game together and, to satisfy our sweet tooth’s, baked a red velvet cake together. 🙂ImageImage

Until next time,

Natasha

One Response to “Learning to Appreciate Little Things”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Feeling a Little Blue | Look Good, Feel Good, For Good! - January 9, 2013

    […] ← Learning to Appreciate Little Things […]

Leave a Reply

