Feeling a Little Blue

9 Jan

Good afternoon readers!

I definitely have fallen off the wagon this week. My week was off to a fantastic start, but Monday afternoon I started feeling incredibly tired and these last couple of days have been very draining on me emotionally. Let’s start with Monday, shall we?

Monday I was up bright and early to get back to work. I started by making myself some Whipped Banana Oatmeal with just banana and PB. Keepin’ it simple.IMG_2061I also realized that my PB jar is getting very close to empty! OVERNIGHT OATS SOON! It’s sad how much I look forward to that breakfast, but it’s hard earned and well enjoyed 🙂 IMG_2064IMG_2065Then I was off to work! I caught up with Katy, ran through some tasks, then had to have a long discussion about the upcoming schedule because…

Monday morning I was offered a job at the running store in Chevy Chase! 🙂 As a way to try and earn some extra income for moving to California and to make health and fitness more of a priority in my life I have been applying to jobs that would help me do just that! It feels good to have one offer already in my toolbox, so now I just have to see how my second interview goes with lululemon tomorrow night and I will go from there.

Around 130ish I was ready for some lunch so I whipped out my salad and my new Klean Kanteen that Kevin’s parents got me for Christmas! They’re so fascinating to me. They’re dual insulated so they keep your beverages ice cold for hours and hours and hours. It was SO thoughtful of them because I got to use them this summer when I visited Kevin’s family on their camping trip. Thanks again! 🙂IMG_2067 IMG_2068A few hours later Katy and I decided to call it a day. I was supposed to meet my friend Mark at the gym for a fitness class, but I was feeling so unbelievably exhausted that I couldn’t even fathom driving myself to the gym let alone doing an entire kettlebell conditioning workout. I felt horrible bailing on him, but I knew this was a funk I had to deal with by resting.

For dinner I kept it simpleIMG_2070 IMG_2071I wanted to give my body a lot of protein for my lack of energy so I whipped up some mac n cheese  then tossed in some ground lean turkey sauteed in pepper, parsley and salt with some edamame. It was a great little twist on some comfort food.

After I finished dinner, Liam led by example.IMG_2076I decided he was right and it was time for bed.

Tuesday

Up early again and back to work, had another whipped banana oatmeal breakfast with cranberries, but alas I gobbled it down too quickly for a picture. I was feeling very unmotivated and had no desire to do any of the things on my schedule for the day – which was no good because Tuesdays are my longest days. At work I spoke with my friend Ryan about it over some lunch which was paella leftovers from Sunday!IMG_2078I also enjoyed my other Klean Kanteen from Kevin’s parents for the day with some iced water and later some hot tea!IMG_2077

After work I stopped at home then was off to babysitting where I did some more work reading on this guy (old photo) and then snacking on some of this:IMG_2081IMG_1763

After babysitting I went off to group therapy at my internship and caught up with my friends in there. It was really good to see them but I was just feeling so tired. They did give me some happy energy which was very useful for my 45 minute drive home.

However, afterwards disaster struck. After feeling so sad all day for one reason and another Liam had, for the third time this week, peed on top of a pile of Kevin’s clothing. I then went over and did the laundry with Kevin, cleaned up the room, the laundry basket, everything. For some reason, it just broke me. I called my mom very upset and talked it out with her about how I felt so guilty burdening other people with a pet that should be my responsibility. We have a bit of a plan moving forward, but it really just further plunged me into my funk.

I had a long talk with Kevin about everything that I’m feeling. As usual, he was extremely supportive and comforting. In an attempt to cheer me up, he had me pick out his outfit and have his roommate finally take our picture in front of our Christmas tree before we took it down. Thanks Kevin 🙂IMG_2085Today

Unfortunately, this morning I am not feeling much better. I was hungry last night, but didn’t really eat dinner because I didn’t feel like it and this morning I took forever to get out of bed and get to work. I have no motivation to do my jobs or anything that I know I enjoy: like exercise or watching Scrubs. I strongly feel that all I want to is absolutely nothing. Just lie in bed and do nothing. Not read, not watch shows, just lay there. While that is not only completely unproductive it is also not going to help me feel any better!

Eventually I made it to work and enjoyed my “breakfast” around noon.IMG_2087loved having the blueberries in there this morning. Well, it’s back to work for me before I am off to babysitting!

I am going to push myself to go on a run while Max is at his activities today instead of sitting in the car. I have to pull myself up if I want to get out of this funk.

What do you guys do to pull yourselves out of a funk when you’re in one?

Until next time,

Natasha

Leave a Reply

