A New Year, A New Fruit, A Polar Plunge and An Anniversary!

1 Jan

Happy new year readers! Welcome to 2013! (I’m no fan of this odd number business, but looks like we’re stuck with it).

I hope all of you had a wonderful, and safe, evening last night and enjoyed ringing in the new year. Being up here in northern Massachusetts is pretty bone chilling, but Adrienne and I have been having a great time so far. Before I began my trip here yesterday, I packed up and took a couple photos with my parents.ImageImageImageImageAfter these quick moments, we were off to Hartford Train Station to pick up my ticket,Image then we had some time to kill so we went into the Whole Foods.ImageOnce I got traveling, I took a nap, switched buses to take me to Newburyport from Boston and snacked on some sweet potato wedges.ImageWhen Adrienne picked me up I scarfed down an apple (it was around 330) and when I walked into her house I had a PB&J with crunchy peanut butter and fig jam. YUM! We did some catching up, sipping on hot chocolate, then got ready to go to a neighborhood friend’s house for a New Years Eve partayyyy!ImageImageImageI only took a couple photos of my food at the party, but I snacked on some wheat crackers with cheese, some mini meatballs in a delicious yet simple sauce (1 jar of jelly, 1 jar of chili sauce and onions) then had salad after this plate of brisket and rice with vegetables.ImageI also enjoyed some tastes of chocolate pecan piered velvet cheesecake, and pound cake with strawberries, cool whip and melted fudge fondue. All were delicious! We then played a less appropriate game of Apples to Apples called Cards Against Humanity. What’s cool is you print it off the internet onto hard paper, cut up the cards, and play! It’s free too which is another great perk. We played with Adrienne’s parents and other adult neighbors which made it hilariously awkward at times.

Adrienne and I left the party early to come back to her house and watch the ball drop! After that, we were straight off to bed because we could barely stay awake.

The ball dropping was also the signal that today, January 1st, marks the year and a half anniversary of Kevin and my’s relationship! Unfortunately, we are spending it apart, but we are looking forward to celebrating it when we are back together in DC. Happy anniversary Kevin! 🙂IMG_0838Today, we woke up and got bagels from a local bagelry. I went with wheat and topped it with some Cinnamon Swirl PB, a banana and I tried kiwi for the first time! I really liked it 🙂ImageImageImageThen we jumped into the Atlantic ocean in nothing but our bathing suits. Absolutely freezing but really exhilarating. It’s a tradition for Adrienne and her neighborhood and although we missed the dive with everyone, Adrienne and I still got to do one together. The only rules are you have to go in with only a bathing suit and you must put your head underwater. Here’s the en route, before and after the plunge photos for your enjoyment:ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageIMG_1933I was so happy that I got to do this tradition with such a close friend. It was an incredible rush and a cool way to start my new year. Braving cold weather, 34 degrees, freezing cold water temperatures, and diving in head first no matter what. Seems like a great mentality to take into this year 🙂

After we got back and dried off, I buttoned up and went out for a 4 mile run.ImageNow it’s time for a lasagna dinner! 🙂

Happy New Years to everyone, enjoy the rest of the 1st day of the year!

Natasha

4 Responses to “A New Year, A New Fruit, A Polar Plunge and An Anniversary!”

  1. wickedhealthywashingtonian33 January 2, 2013 at 9:23 pm #

    How have you never had kiwi before?! Ahhh so good! Also, I’m pretty sure you and I alone could keep Peanut Butter and Co. up and running PLUS the banana importation business afloat. Our obsessions know no bounds…

    • lookgoodfeelgood4good January 3, 2013 at 12:00 am #

      I had this food phobia growing up that didn’t change until college (I probably mentioned it to you back in the day), but there’s still a handful of things I haven’t eaten yet. Haha, oh easily. Don’t worry everyone – we got this.

Leave a Reply

