Spaghetti Squash Thai Style

7 Dec

Good morning readers!

Thursday ended up being an awesome day of rest for me. I knew I really really needed the sleep and was more than happy to get it. Although I had some trouble falling asleep due to stomach pain, about 4 hours worth of trouble to be exact, I was able to sleep in until 1130AM! Woo!

I started my day with a blueberry, strawberry banana milkshake with about 1 cup of non-fat plain Greek yogurt and a Pumpkin Spice Bagel Thin, topped with Cinnamon Swirl PB of course 🙂

.IMG_1335 IMG_1336

Then I was off running errands when I got an email from Urban Outfitters that they were having a 50% off what’s already on sale sale. Deadly.I will post a picture of everything I bought tomorrow, but it was a steal. Just to give you an idea, I bought a gorgeous white lace dress that was originally selling at $80 for twenty bucks. I hit the jackpot.

Anyway, after babysitting I picked up my friend Erika so she could come over for dinner and a movie. For the movie, we chose Madagascar 3. For dinner, we chose veggies, chicken, and spaghetti squash (no pasta) in a peanut sauce. Why use noodles when you can use spaghetti squash? This is hands down one of the best meals I’ve had.

IMG_1340

First, we thought we would be creative and make our own peanut sauce. After realizing how hungry I was though I decided against it. Erika brought a bottle of peanut sauce with her that was going to be thrown out before she went home for winter break, so I felt it was better to use that anyway. So, then we started to cook the veggies and toss the peanut sauce on top of them.

IMG_1341 IMG_1343

In the pot was spinach, one red bell pepper, 2 gloves garlic, onion, 2 tomatoes, broccoli and 2 yellow squashes. Since we were trying to be healthy, and I always love experimenting with my foods, we decided to serve the thai entree over spaghetti squash instead of noodles. Not only does this give us an extra serving of vegetables, but it’s less junk in our food (since we had the peanut sauce anyway) and is a healthier version. We put the spaghetti squash in last, then added a HUGE heap of peanut butter into the mixture.

While that was marinating, I cooked 3 small chicken breasts in pepper, thyme and basil. My favorite spices combo for chicken.

IMG_1344

Then we put it all together and had Erika do a final set of stirring. She didn’t know just how to pose for the blog, but here’s what she came up with.

IMG_1345 IMG_1346

Gorgeous.

Then we dug in while watching Madagascar 3. Which admittedly, was cute and some parts had me laughing out loud. I liked the scene with the zebra and his “circus afro.”

I helped myself to a big bowl then enjoyed every single bite of a French Vanilla cupcake Erika brought me from Au Bon Pain! 🙂

IMG_1347 IMG_1348

I’m super excited to have some leftovers for lunch today!

Hope your Friday is off to a good start!

Until next time,

Natasha

Leave a Reply

