A 2 Ingredient Pancake & new PR!

3 Dec

Good morning readers!

It’s a very weird time for weather here in DC, yesterday was 60 degrees and today is 68! Needless to say, I’m absolutely loving how warm it is 🙂 It feels like it’s spring time!

Yesterday morning I woke up with the full intent of taking the entire day off. More mental relaxation  but most importantly my body needed to rest. However, with the warm weather I didn’t want to waste it! But, I won’t get ahead of myself.

First I woke up, watched some Glee, and decided to blog then do some chores around the house, which Liam decided to help with.

Image

flannel sheets! sooooo comfy.

flannel sheets! sooooo comfy.

someone's intrigued by the new sheets.

someone’s intrigued.IMG_1280

After that, I had definitely worked up an appetite and decided to try another new recipe I’ve been meaning to cook, a two ingredient pancake! Since I had never made one before, I logged onto Tina’s blog to see if there were any tips. Luckily, I found some and followed these! First, I got a small banana and one large brown egg from my fridge to whip together.

IMG_1254

Next, I poured the mixture into my small frying pan and waited patiently for the pancake to cook.

As Tina instructed, wait to flip until you see the bubbles in the middle and the edges are solid. (This is right before I flipped)

As Tina instructed, wait to flip until you see the bubbles in the middle and the edges are solid. (This is right before I flipped)

Voila! Not only did it stay together, but it was great timing! Thanks for the tips Tina!

Voila! Not only did it stay together, but it was great timing! Thanks for the tips Tina!

Then it was time to top it off with my favorite, Cinnamon Swirl PB, and dig in with a glass of milk.

After I did some laundry and digested, I decided I wanted to take advantage of the 60 degree weather and go for a run. I geared up in a long sleeve top, shorts, and my running shoes and was out the door. I originally thought I would run a nice and easy 3 miles, but once I got outside I was feeling really good so I ended up running a tad over 5 miles.

Screen Shot 2012-12-06 at 5.49.57 PM

I didn’t fully believe my Nike + sensor that I had run over 5 miles in 4o minutes, so I logged onto MapMyRun when I got home and checked it. It was true! Holy smokes, new personal record for me! I think the key thing for me to be able to feel that strong during my run has been cross training. Last year I was running 4 miles everyday. Not only did I injure my IT band, but my time wasn’t getting all that faster. I’ve been strengthening my entire body, especially my legs and core, through exercises classes, circuit workouts, and, believe me, rest days. Make sure you mix it up with your workouts, I promise you’ll see results!

Unfortunately, my stomach was not happy with me all during the run or after. I came home and heated up some chamomile tea and roasted sweet potatoes to try and ease it a little bit.IMG_1286

IMG_1289

For the rest of the day I took it easy, my stomach was not in good shape and I felt pretty out of it. I knew I needed to eat a big and satiating dinner to help me recuperate so after a small nap and some more cleaning I got all set-up in the kitchen to make a vegetable chicken wrap!

IMG_1291 IMG_1312 IMG_1309 IMG_1300

After I had my vegetables goin and the chicken all set, I prepared some eggplant mushroom casserole for the week!

IMG_1296 IMG_1298

Cut your eggplant, length wise, into about 1/4 inch thick slices. Coat a pan with non-stick spray or olive oil, and place the first layer of eggplant down. Then, place sliced mushrooms (I use portabella), spinach, cheese (I normally do mozzarella, but I chose feta this time), and tomato sauce on top! Repeat the process until you’re out of eggplant! Then pop it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.

Then, it was time to eat!IMG_1310IMG_1314

The final product!

The final product!

This. Wrap. Was. AMAZING.

I was still a little hungry, and knew my body could use the extra intake, so I heated up some leftover zucchini quiche my mom gave me and split half of it with  my roommate, Ami.IMG_1318

Hope you all had a good weekend!

2 Responses to “A 2 Ingredient Pancake & new PR!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Where’s My Head At? « Look Good, Feel Good, For Good! - December 18, 2012

    […] starving for dinner and luckily had some vegetables I could throw together. I was also craving a two ingredient pancake so I made one of those as well. Chicken nuggets ended up being a great choice. The onions, […]

  2. Snowed In « Look Good, Feel Good, For Good! - December 30, 2012

    […] try and hunt for a great sweater bargain before it got too messy. First, I made breakfast. I made a 2 ingredient pancake topped with Cinnamon Raisin Swirl PB and washed it down with a glass of milk with blueberries on […]

Leave a Reply

