Bosu and A Lot of R & R

2 Dec

Good morning readers!

This morning I have the apartment all to myself, which is a thing to treasure some moments since I live with 4 others, and after watching another episode of Glee decided it was time to blog about yesterday.

I started my morning by waking up around 830AM to a sleepy Liam,

and planned on going to the TRX class at 930. Whoops…turns out it starts at 9. Missed it again. So I looked at my other options and saw Bosu Abs was up at 10AM. Since I’m used to doing all sorts of crazy exercises on a Bosu ball, thanks to my written workouts, I thought this class would be a breeze for me. I grabbed a fig bar to munch on while en route to the gym and was on my way.

When I got to the gym, they were wrapping up the TRX class so I snapped a photo so you guys could kind of get a visual of what I’m talking about. This was the cool down portion so it was just stretching, but here’s what it looks like:

\

I filled up my water bottle while I waited and when it was time, I walked into class and grabbed all the equipment our instructor told us we would need.

One set of 3 lb weight, one set of 5 lb weights, Bosu ball, and mat.

I was so wrong about this class, it was a fantastic and challenging workout. We did 4-5 groups of exercises and would repeat each group 3 times through before starting a new one. The class was 45 minutes, but worked you from start to finish. I think the toughest was being in a plank, feet on the bosu ball, and with one hand lifting up one weight at a time and placing it on the other side of your body. Then repeating it, by bringing the weights to the other side of your body. That’s 1 rep.

If your gym has a Bosu class, I suggest trying it out! I think this will become a Saturday morning regular for me.

There is one thing I need help figuring out. What to do with my hair while I workout. See, I have short hair now (totally new for me) and it doesn’t fit in a ponytail. However, since I have bangs, I’m not confident a headband would be great either. I’ve used a bandana before, and while it does wick away sweat, it doesn’t really stay in place as much as I thought it would so for classes where I’m really mobile it wouldn’t be a good choice. But this look…isn’t really working for me:

IMG_1634

It’s all over the place and quite a sweaty mess. Does anyone have suggestions?

When I came home from my workout, I walked in the door to see one sleepy kitten who looked like they had just woken up from a nap when they heard Mom came home.

Tiger yawn.

Tiger yawn.

Look at those sleepy eyes.

Look at those sleepy eyes.

Time for breakfast!

I decided on Banana Whipped Oatmeal again, but this time with blackberries and blueberries! 🙂 I love berries. While I cooked and heated up water for tea, Liam got cozy on the floor.

IMG_1170IMG_1173IMG_1171

I threw together the milk, oats and water into the pan before adding my thin slices of banana, then whipped it all together.

IMG_1175

Here’s what it should look like once you’ve whipped the bananas into the oats.

I washed off the berries, then tossed them into the pot right at the end so they would be warm. And served it up with just a little bit of real maple syrup drizzled in. Delicious.

IMG_1176IMG_1178IMG_1179

Liam was really intrigued this morning and was all over the place.

IMG_1184IMG_1188IMG_1182IMG_1183

Crazy kitten. After breakfast, it was time to shower then enjoy my day of rest and relaxation. I do A LOT of running around during the week. By the time the weekend rolls around I sometimes overbook myself and Sunday I find myself exhausted. I decided Saturday I was not going to move from the couch (or my bed) all day. Something that’s really hard for me to do. Not only to sit with myself for a long period of time, but to not be active. To just allow myself some rest. I started by deciding to paint my nails, drink some tea, and watch Glee from the very beginning on Netflix.

IMG_1192IMG_1191IMG_1194

I absolutely love this color and was glad I rediscovered it in my collection. Around 230 it was definitely time for a snack. I was starving. Since I didn’t have any peanut butter in my breakfast, I wanted to incorporate it into snack time. So I chose to have an apple.

IMG_1202IMG_1200

My roommates came home around this time too, they were all working on a world puzzle. Now, geography isn’t my thing (I don’t know where each state goes on a map of the United States) so I let them do their thing while we all talked. Autumn whipped out this dip we all had to try and served it on a big hunk of carrot.

IMG_1206

I still am not sure what was in the dip, but it was pretty good. Similar to spinach and artichoke dip. Autumn is a vegan though, so it could’ve been anything haha.

After a little while I found myself still super hungry, but with no idea of what I wanted to eat. I snacked on some grapes, and some Pumpkin Chocolate Chip bread while I waited to see what my dinner plans were. However, around 530 I decided I needed to start cooking and stop snacking. My roommates all were going out for dinner, so once they left I kind of just threw a bunch of things into the oven so I had a bunch of choices, and leftovers for Monday’s lunch!

First, I cut up some sweet potatoes.

First, I cut up some sweet potatoes.

IMG_1213IMG_1211

SPAGHETTI SQUASH.

SPAGHETTI SQUASH.

Once everything was in the oven for about 10 minutes, it would take 30, I started to also sautee some vegetables as well.

IMG_1216IMG_1218

And before long, I had a mini feast for myself.

IMG_1224IMG_1219IMG_1223

Everything was really good, and I felt fully satisfied with my choices. I ate the whole bowl of spinach, but only half of everything else. I have plenty of leftovers since I didn’t even serve out all the vegetables. I’m really looking forward to having that all prepared and ready for me whenever 🙂

Two hours of watching Glee later, I decided on having a little something sweet with a glass of skim milk. I chose a Fiber One Chocolate Chip Brownie. They’re only 90 calories and have 5g of fiber, but still taste sweet! It’s a really good combination for me because between the brownie and the milk, I was full but my sweet tooth was also completely satisfied. Win win.

IMG_1229IMG_1235

I then took the time to start cleaning up my room. It’s been totally cluttered with all these pieces of paper and little knick knacks I couldn’t bring myself to throw out because “I may just need them one day.” Enough Natasha, you don’t use it so chuck it.

I started with my jewelry. I detangled all the necklaces and neatly hung them up in my jewelry dresser, then organized all the earrings, then my pen drawer in my desk.

IMG_1236

Liam was exhausted from all his hard work.

IMG_1237

It’s crazy how much such small organizing can make such a big difference for me.

At this point, I realized I had completely forgotten about my spaghetti squash! I ended up not having it with my dinner, but wanted to still carve it out so I had it on hand during the week. Some of my roommates had come home and Autumn had a couple friends over. Since I got all my roommates hooked on spaghetti squash, since I added it to our pot of pasta and veggies at our last roommate dinner, I was more than happy to give them a tutorial while I carved it out. (We’re weird, we know).

IMG_1239IMG_1241

IMG_1244

I showed them, and Autumn’s guests, (it’s totally normal) to first take out the pulp and then simply take a spoon or fork and go around the squash. It’s insides will fall onto the spoon in the shape of spaghetti. Pop it into a tupperware container and plop it in the fridge for whenever you’re ready!

I socialized for a little while with Autumn and her guests before they went out,

IMG_1248

then snuggled up to more Glee and Liam before bedtime.

IMG_1646IMG_1649IMG_1643

Although it took him a little while to get comfy, we passed out eventually.

Hope your Sunday is off to a good start!

Until next time,

Natasha

3 Responses to “Bosu and A Lot of R & R”

  1. Rose December 2, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    Liam is definitely the star but the pictures of the food are amazing, I kept reaching for my fork the food looked so good!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Making It and Catching Up « Look Good, Feel Good, For Good! - December 15, 2012

    […] the day off from the lab. I, however, didn’t sleep in too late because I was not going to miss the 9AM TRX (and here) class again. No way. And I am proud to say guys…I MADE IT! Yes I did, yes I […]

Leave a Reply

