New Day, New Breakfast.

30 Nov

Good evening everyone!

Woof, what a long day today was. One of the best parts though was being able to sleep in a little later this morning, til 930, and have the time to make a fresh breakfast before work. I took this opportunity to try a recipe I’ve been meaning to try for awhile now: whipped banana oatmeal.

I found this recipe off the blog Kath Eat’s Real Food months ago, but haven’t gotten around to making it until today. I started off with 1/3 cup skim milk, 1/3 cup oats, and 1/2 cup water in a pan. I brought this to a medium boil then began to slice half of a banana very thinly and place the slices  into the mix.

Image

Once it all began to boil, I whipped the mixture together quickly until the bananas became part of the consistency. The smell at this point of the process was heaven. I let it cook for about 4 minutes and then added in some pumpkin puree.

Image

Lastly, I tossed some blueberries in there and hoped for the best. To be honest, I wasn’t quite sure if I would like it. I almost began a second batch, but realized I was running low on time so I popped it into a tupperware container and went off to work.

Well, to my surprise, this breakfast was delicious! And ultra filling. About halfway I was considering putting it in the fridge for later, but it was too good! Especially once I added in my Cinnamon Raisin Swirl Peanut Butter. Seriously, I cannot get enough of it right now.

Image

I ran a participant, made some phone calls, followed up on emails, and before I knew it it was 130! Time to eat 🙂

Image

In the bowl today was spinach, chickpeas, cucumber, tomato, avocado, raisins, yellow bell pepper and light balsamic vinaigrette. I use the Boathouse Farms dressing and I highly recommend it. Light in calories per serving, but packed with flavor. I actually didn’t even put dressing on my salads for the first 2 years I ate them, but this is my favorite dressing now.

After a couple more tasks at work, I got to head home and have some down time before I left for babysitting. Today went by pretty quickly, I always enjoy my time with Max. He’s 12 and horrible at Mario Kart on the Wii, but a really enjoyable kid to spend time with. Right from babysitting I left for the gym!

Today’s workout was all about getting myself moving. I took Tuesday and Wednesday as rest days so I felt a little restless. I hopped on the treadmill for a nice and easy 3 mile run at a 8:34 pace. After that, I hopped downstairs and completed this circuit Tina from Carrot’s n Cake posted on Health Magazine’s website for the morning after Thanksgiving. I actually did the workout that morning as well and found it to be a good challenge so I went for it again today.

My legs are definitely feeling it halfway through. It’s a tough workout, but a good one! I didn’t leave the gym until 755 so by the time I got in my car I realized how hungry I was. I normally like to be done with dinner by 8 so my stomach was empty and my body ready for some fuel. When I got home, I wanted to just throw together something quickly in the form of veggies and protein so I just grabbed whatever was ready to cook.

The veggies of the evening were broccoli, yellow squash, garlic and brussel sprouts. I tossed in some black pepper, basil and thyme. The combination was so random, but I ended up really enjoying it. I’m going to repeat this one for sure.

To pair alongside my veggies I chose a throwback.

Trader Joe’s Chicken Nuggets 🙂

With only 190 calories and 15 g of protein these little nuggets were the perfect choice for tonight. By the end of the meal my stomach was happily satisfied 🙂

The rest of my evening consisted of showering and getting the blog ready to launch! I’m pretty wiped so I’m going to snuggle up with Liam and read a little bit of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. It’s been a while since I’ve read it, or any of the series for that matter. I’ve decided I’m going to read through all 7 again and see how fast I can do it. A bit of a mini, but enjoyable challenge for me. I haven’t read for pleasure in awhile.

What are some good books you have read lately?

Well that’s it for me tonight, goodnight everyone!

Until next time,

Natasha

4 Responses to “New Day, New Breakfast.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bosu and A Lot of R & R « Look Good, Feel Good, For Good! - December 2, 2012

    […] decided on Banana Whipped Oatmeal again, but this time with blackberries and blueberries! I love berries. While I cooked and heated […]

  2. Where’s My Head At? « Look Good, Feel Good, For Good! - December 18, 2012

    […] I realized I was starving at 11. Luckily, I came prepared.Before I left for work, I prepared some whipped banana oatmeal and tossed some blackberries on top at the end to warm them up. Awesome […]

  3. Quality Time « Look Good, Feel Good, For Good! - December 29, 2012

    […] ado, it’s picture time! Thursday morning I woke up ready for some oatmeal so I made some Whipped Banana Oatmeal and topped it with blueberries and raspberries at the end so they would pop a little and melt into […]

  4. Feeling a Little Blue | Look Good, Feel Good, For Good! - January 9, 2013

    […] I was up bright and early to get back to work. I started by making myself some Whipped Banana Oatmeal with just banana and PB. Keepin’ it simple.I also realized that my PB jar is getting very […]

Leave a Reply

